PFAS Restriction Proposal From 5 National Authorities | January 2023

The national authorities of Denmark, Germany, the Netherlands, Norway and Sweden have submitted a proposal to the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) to restrict per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) under REACH, the European Union's (EU) chemicals regulation.

ECHA will publish the detailed proposal, one of the broadest in the EU's history, on 7 February 2023.  


Over the past three years, the five national authorities have investigated different PFAS, their uses and the risks they may pose to people and the environment. They held two public consultations to gather evidence on the use of these substances and examined all information received.


Learn more about the proposal here. 


Further PFAS news